Friday, November 8, 2019

Milwaukee city, county partnering on climate change/economic equity agenda

Glad to see this communication Friday from Milwaukee Ald. Nik Kovac, and props to Milwaukee city and county officials for linking climate change and economic equity issues, as is the state, too

Smoke stacks from a factory. 
No time to waste: the first meeting is Monday.
 Climate and Economic Equity Taskforce Co-chairs Announce Members 
County Supervisor Supreme Moore Omokunde and City of Milwaukee Alderman Nik Kovac announced the members of the Milwaukee City-County Joint Task force on Climate and Economic Equity today and scheduled the group's first meeting for November 11
Task force members include August Ball of Cream City Conservation, Pam Fendt of Milwaukee Area Labor Council, Julie Kersick of Community Advocates Public Policy Institute, Ted Kraig of Wisconsin Climate Table, Ayanna Lee of Milwaukee Youth Council, George Martin of NAACP Milwaukee Chapter, Barbara Richards of Sierra Club Wisconsin, Pamela Ritger of Clean Wisconsin, Erick Shambarger of City of Milwaukee Environmental Collaboration Office, Rafael Smith of Citizen Action of Wisconsin and environmental lawyer Janet Meissner Pritchard. Kovac and Moore Omokunde will co-chair the task force. 
“I am enthusiastic about the opportunity to deal with both the impending climate crisis and unemployment levels in portions of our community that are double what was experienced during the Depression. I'm confident that my colleagues on the task force share my sense of enthusiasm and urgency, and I know we're all eager to roll up our sleeves and get to work,” said Supervisor Moore Omokunde. 
“I look forward to working with Supervisor Moore Omokunde and other community partners to make global change by empowering and employing neighbors and advocates on a local level,” said Alderman Kovac. 
The November 11 meeting will take place in room 301-A of the Milwaukee City Hall at 2:00 p.m. The meeting is open to the public. 
The task force was established this summer and is charged with making recommendations to both the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors and Milwaukee Common Council to achieve net zero greenhouse gas emissions by 2050 or sooner, while mitigating racial and income inequality. Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors Chairman Theodore Lipscomb, Sr. and Milwaukee Common Council President Ashanti Hamilton appointed the members of the task force. 

No comments: