Thursday, October 17, 2019

WI gets a new climate change team, policy focus

Three years ago, I blew the whistle on Gov. Walker's DNR for having scrubbed climate change science, information and links from the WI DNR's website.

Today we see yet another sign that there's a smarter administration in charge:
Gov. Evers Signs Executive Order #52 Relating to Climate Change in Wisconsin

MADISON — Gov. Tony Evers, along with Lt. Gov. Mandela Barnes, today signed Executive Order #52, establishing the Governor’s Task Force on Climate Change at the Urban Ecology Center’s Riverside Park location in Milwaukee.

“For too long we've been ignoring science, and frankly, we can't afford to do it any longer. It’s time for us to deliver on the promise to our kids that we’re leaving them a better life and world than the one we inherited,” Gov. Evers said. “I am confident that this task force will find meaningfu; sustainable solutions to the climate crisis to carry our state into the future.”

The Task Force on Climate Change will advise and assist the governor in developing a strategy to mitigate and adapt to the effects of climate change for the benefit of all Wisconsin communities. Members of the task force will work closely with the Office of Sustainability and Clean Energy, created through Executive Order #38

The task force will report their findings and policy recommendations to Gov. Evers by August 2020.

In the executive order, Gov. Evers stated climate change is a grave threat to the health, safety, and economic well-being of people and communities throughout Wisconsin. Gov. Evers has appointed Lt. Gov. Barnes to serve as chairman of the task force, who noted communities of color and low-income communities experience the first and worst consequences of climate change.

“All of Wisconsin can prosper in transitioning to a just and equitable clean economy,” Lt. Gov. Barnes said. “I’m eager to work alongside a number of brilliant and diverse individuals from across the state on this task force being created by Governor Evers, and I’m proud he’s given me the opportunity to lead it.”

Members of the Governor’s Task Force on Climate Change will include: 
  • Lieutenant Governor Mandela Barnes
  • Department of Natural Resources Secretary-designee Preston Cole or a representative
  • Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Secretary-designee Brad Pfaff or a representative
  • Department of Workforce Development Secretary-designee Caleb Frostman, or a representative
  • A member of the Senate majority
  • A member of the Senate minority
  • A member of the Assembly majority
  • A member of the Assembly minority
  • August Ball- Cream City Conservation, Milwaukee
  • Joe Bragger- Bragger Family Dairy, Independence
  • Kristofer Canto- American Family Insurance
  • Stacy M. Craig- Environmental Stewardship Advocate, Mason
  • Jeffery Crawford- Forest County Potawatomi Attorney General, Oconomowoc
  • Robert Garvin- We Energies, Milwaukee
  • Paul Graham- President of Central Waters Brewing Company, Amherst
  • Anna Haines- University of Wisconsin- Stevens Point, Stevens Point
  • Bill Hogseth- Wisconsin Farmer's Union, Elk Mound
  • Dylan Jennings- Bad River Band of the Lake Superior Tribe of Chippewa Indians and Great Lakes Indian Fish & Wildlife Commission, Odanah
  • Sherri Johnson- University of Wisconsin Population Health Instsitute Director, Madison
  • Amber Meyer-Smith- Clean Wisconsin, Madison
  • Kathleen McGinty- Johnson Controls Inc
  • Rob Palmberg- Dairyland Power, La Crosse
  • Mike Peters, President of WPPI Energy
  • Chris Pollack- Wisconsin Farm Bureau, Ripon
  • Jeffery Rafn, Ph.D.- President of Northeast Wisconsin Technical College, Green Bay
  • Doug Rebout, Roger Rebout & Sons Farms, Janesville
  • Stephanie Salgado- Youth Climate Action, Madison
  • Kerry Schumann- Wisconsin Conservation Voters, Madison
  • Kirsten Shead- Milwaukee Water Commons, Milwaukee
  • Mark Stoering- President of Xcel Energy, Eau Claire
  • Bob Stone- IBEW Local 2150, Menominee Falls
  • Krystal Westfahl- Minocqua Area Chamber of Commerce, Minocqua
Executive Order #52 can be found here.

Flooding during historic rains in Dane County in 2018 caused millions of dollars in damage and drowned one city resident. Similar events have been repeated statewide, and repeatedly. September, 2019 was the warmest September on record, arctic sea ice and glaciers are melting rapidly, and storms are intensifying - - all in response to climate-altering greenhouse gas emissions. The time for intellectual honesty and informed, scientific action is now.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

There aren't any climate scientists on this.