Wednesday, February 17, 2016

WI Legislature just designated Dane the official Sprawl County

In this the 65th installment of the blog series The Road to Sprawlville, we note that the GOP-run/special-interest serving State Legislature has just loosened planning procedures, greatly empowering developers in the Dane County they love to hate.

With negative consequences for farmland, groundwater, traffic and more.

By state law, mind you, and not the people of the county.

There are 72 counties in Wisconsin, but the pro-developer law applies only to Dane.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

The Legislature did similar tinkering in Milwaukee County by removing the county board from having any say about decisions involving any land-related deals--except for land zoned as a park. That was done at the behest of Milwaukee County's executive as payback for his role in crafting an arena deal that most heavily burdened Milwaukee County taxpayers. It also allowed Abele to give 10 acres valued at $9 million to the Bucks owners for speculative development.