Tuesday, September 30, 2008

SEWRPC Study Diversion Recommendations, Corrected

In an earlier post, I Incorrectly stated that eight communities west of the sub-continental divide were recommended to receive
diverted Lake Michigan water, including the City of Waukesha.

There are additional communities recommended to receive Lake Michigan water, but nearly all are east of the divide, making return flow simple and replacement of well water logical.

These communities east of the divide are:

Germantown, in Washington County; Cedarburg, Grafton, Fredonia and Saukville in Ozaukee County.

The small diversions to two communities west of the divide recommended to receive diverted water - - not including the City of Waukesha - - are already returning wastewater to lake Michigan via MMSD.

Sorry for posting information that was inaccurate.

The City of Waukesha has not completed its diversion application, but that could take place within several months.

Waukesha's application would have to be approved by all eight Great Lakes states.

No comments: